Posted by: Megan | June 22, 2011

All That Glitters: The Cover

I think Pearl speaks for all of us.

This has always been my favorite of the Landry series covers, because everyone looks so darn good. And so darn melodramatic! As with the cover of Pearl in the Mist, the All That Glitters cover gives us a little vignette that shows off several of the book’s plot points in one delightful freeze frame. There’s actually not much to snark on this one: the twins look like they should, baby Pearl is cute, the guys are…okay-looking (well, not Paul), and there’s even a cute little mirror thing happening, so I’ll keep this short. Now, onto our players!

In the front there we have a new face: Gladys Tate, Paul’s adoptive mother. Now, there are those who feel that the evil smugness in the foreground is Daphne, but, I’m sad to say (SPOILER ALERT) Daphne doesn’t last too long in this book, and has no real bearing on the plot that’s happening in the background, so my money’s on Gladys. Gladys is a piece of work, lemme tell you, and just wait until Tarnished Gold because, whoooo boy. Lots to come on Madame Tate.

In the bed making like the heroine of some sort of vampire-themed penny dreadful is (SPOILER AGAIN) Gisselle. Yes, that’s right, our girl has gotten herself into a pickle again. But she looks damn good doing it, doesn’t she? Gisselle is in a coma for a good part of the book and like all good twins when their sister is in a coma, what can Ruby but pretend to be Gisselle? (Oh, Ruby)

That’s right! The young lady in the suit behind Sleeping Beauty, staring directly into my soul, is our Ruby, who is pretending at this point in the story to be Gisselle, hence the standing by Beau (who, another SPOILER, is back with Gisselle). I like the little trick they did with Ruby’s jewelry here–it’s all front and center, and it’s all rubies. Ruby and Gisselle are pretty, their hair is the right color, and they look exactly alike: check check and check! As a nice bonus, Ruby looks guilty and miserable, which, as we all know, is par for the course.

In Ruby’s arms is Pearl, who is pretty darn cute, and even has the right hair color too. That’s…really all I have to say about Pearl, I mean, she’s a baby.

Next to Ruby is Mark-Paul Goss–I mean Beau. (But come on, you know I’m right) Beau is kinda hot on this cover, but he also looks super smarmy. This is not incorrect. And neither is that mustache-thing, I’m sorry to say. More on that later.

Lurking, as always, in the background is Paul, who looks miserable and pissy and unhappy and annoyed. All accurate! Lurk harder, Paul. Seriously.

The little mirror thing I mentioned earlier is going on in the round mirror at the top of the picture, which gives us the backs of Beau and Ruby’s heads, together at last. Awwwwwww.

I’m so excited to get into this one!

Responses

  1. Excellent analysis – I never noticed the mirror or jewellery before! Can’t wait for your recaps on this one.

    • Thanks!

  2. Ah, I’ve been looking forward to this one! I re-read it last year and just laughed so hard. I remember taking it so seriously when I was a teenager, too!

    • So did I! I think I took this whole series very seriously. I just KNEW it was a completely accurate portrayal of New Orleans culture.

  3. /comes out of lurking

    Y’know… I never noticed that mustache before. It kinda looks like a dead worm. Not Attractive and doesn’t help the smarmy-ness.

    I can’t wait to read your recaps on this one either. I read it for the first time a year or two ago and it was full of lulz. Will Swamp Thing be making appearances in this recap too?

    • I don’t know which is worse: the mustache, or how suave everyone thinks it is.

      And I have a sneaking suspicion that Swamp Thing will be popping in here and there, yep!

  4. That should be a “w” instead of an “m”. Definitely a wusstache.

    • It’s like…why bother? You know it’s some wispy blond thing. Just let it go.

  5. Did you notice their maid’s name changes from Holly in the beginning, to Molly?

    • I had not, actually! But I am not surprised. -_-


Leave a Reply

Categories

