Posted by: Megan | April 24, 2009

Just a note

I do enjoy looking at the search terms that bring people, however briefly, to my blog. Those looking for Edward Cullen (and I have my suspicions, you) are doubtless sorely disappointed. I do not, however, want all searchers to be disappointed if they’re looking for something other than My Sweet Audrina, so if it’s VCA related, I feel duty-bound to answer.

So, my Dashboard cut off the rest of this search phrase, but let me see if I can help you out, mysterious searcher.

v.c. andrews did chris and cathy ever ha

For those not in the know, the searcher is asking about Christopher and Cath-er-ine Dollanganger, from the aptly named Dollanganger series, possibly VCA’s most famous work. Another note: I did no searching of my own in providing these answers, and my books are at home. My memory is a scary place, guys, full of scraps of VCA knowledge. I love it.

Here are my possibilities:

1. v.c. andrews did chris and cathy ever have siblings?

2. v.c. andrews did chris and cathy ever have children?

3. v.c. andrews did chris and cathy ever have a healthy relationship?

4. v.c. andrews did chris and cathy ever have sex?

And your answers:

1. I doubt this was the search, but I had to save the obvious one for last, didn’t I? But anyhow, yes, Chris and Cathy have two siblings: twins Cory and Carrie. Cory dies in Flowers in the Attic and Carrie dies in Petals on the Wind; Cory after having been poisoned by their mother, and Carrie after having served as a mother/whore/virgin problem. I have a whole essay planned for Carrie, folks. It’ll be grand.

2. In a way? Chris raises Cathy’s two biological sons (Jory and Bart Jr.) with her, and the boys know Chris as their stepfather, though they dimly recall him being their uncle. Chris and Cathy later adopt a little girl, Cindy. They never have biological children together, even though there’s a suspicious miscarriage-esque situation in Petals on the Wind that’s never explained to my satisfaction.

3. Nooooooo. Chris is always unhealthily attached to their mother, and Cathy to their father, and when those parent-figures are taken/go away from them, they fixate on each other, Chris more so than Cathy. Cathy eventually gives in, Chris never thinks of anything else.

4. I’m betting this was the rest of the search. Yes. And how. See, they have a classic “It’s kinda rape, but we love each other, so we’ll let it slide, since I totes could have stopped you if I wanted” encounter in Flowers in the Attic (and, readers, we’ll soon get one of those on a certain couple’s honeymoon in MSA, oh hooray). Later on, they spend a lot of time trying really, really hard not to have sex because it’s a sin, but then they get married, so it’s legit. But only sort of. Since they’re brother and sister.

So there you have it! I hope that answered your query, searcher, and I hope you come back and read it. Everyone else: recap this weekend. Vera not only stole our hearts, she stole all of Audrina’s nice sweaters. THE HORROR.

Responses

  1. I am loving this blog, as a long time VCA reader I love hearing what other people think of the books.
    Oh and can’t wait for the essay on Carrie! haha.

  2. Wait, I got a similar search term for TVD yesterday. I call shenanigans.

  3. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. Shenanigans!

  4. But Chris and Cathy are PRETTY PEOPLE. It’s ok for the pretty people to do bad things, like marry their siblings, because they’re pretty.

    FiTA is definitely a classic and my favorite VCA book.

  5. You are totes making me want to read them all again and again.

    And really, I think we are the same person, I read your answers and they were my thoughts!

  6. I think the searcher’s true question was actually “v.c. andrews did chris and cathy ever have pie.” Because pie is awesome!

  7. Awww, and the sad thing is, Whitney, I think the answer would have been “no”. Dead siblings? Yes. Kids with issues? Check. Various parental-based complexes? Yes. Incestuous sexing? Yes. Pie? No. 😦

  8. There might be pie in Petals on the Wind. I distinctly recall a cake, so a pie is possible.

    • I know Cathy makes a couple of cakes, for Paul and Chris and whatnot, so maybe Hetty makes some pie?

  9. Carrie commits suicide after she runs into her mother on the street because Cathy moved to the village where the mansion is. Poor Carrie 😦 she was publicly humiliated by her mother that day and she poisoned herself with none other than arsenic! The very poison her mother was using to kill them all those years ago 😦


Leave a Reply

Categories

