Let the great experiment begin!

V.C. Andrews novels are one of the great guilty pleasures of life. They combine so many delightful features of other guilty pleasures! Like romance novels, they’re formulaic. Like bad thriller novels, they’re filled with lame psychology and “life-threatening” situations. Like bad slash fiction, everyone sleeps with everyone, regardless of relationship. You get ethnic stereotypes, classism, weird mother issues, weird father issues, possible psychic powers, voodoo, disgraced figure skaters/singers/dancers/piano players, and people named things like Heaven Leigh. How can they go wrong?
During my big VCA reading years, I read (and plan to recap) the following:

The Dollanganger series (Flowers in the Attic, Petals on the Wind, If There Be Thorns, Seeds of Yesterday, Garden of Shadows)

The Casteel series (Heaven, Dark Angel, Fallen Hearts, Gates of Paradise, Web of Dreams)

The Cutler series (Dawn, Secrets of the Morning, Twilight’s Child, Midnight Whispers, Darkest Hour)

The Landry series (Ruby, Pearl in the Mist, All that Glitters, Hidden Jewel, Tarnished Gold)

The Logan series (Melody, Heart Song, Unfinished Symphony, Music in the Night, Olivia)

And the stand-alone opus My Sweet Audrina.

I pretty much stopped after those. I did read the Orphans series, but those were fairly lame and I might toss them in if I get too weighed down under 1600 pages of “I loved Chris, and he was my brother”*, but we’ll see. I’m not opposed to reading any of the newer series, but I want to deal with those I’ve read and loved (so guiltily) already.¬† I’ll be starting out with Audrina, since it’s nice and stand-alone and completely insane. I plan to start this weekend, so let’s all get ready for the ride!

*This was from memory.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Kel says:

    I just stumbled across this blog- what an awesome idea! I have really enjoyed the recaps so far – MSA was one of my favourite books when I was younger.

  2. Deitra says:

    I love these books,but here’s what I noticed the good girls aren’t that good either,,these girls have sex too,but they just do it with one guy,although Dawn did it twice her music teacher which is how Christie came about and with Jimmy after they were married

    1. Megan says:

      Exactly! It’s a very soap opera attitude–“true love” makes it okay. They can have sex with other people, but they have to really, really regret it.

  3. Karla says:

    Just found your blog. I was re-reading Ruby and was googling and came across this page! Hilarious! I started reading VCA when I was 12, now I am 29. I didn’t read the Orphans series because they didn’t follow the “formula” but the last series I did read was the DeBeers & whatever Rain’s last name was I can’t remember, I recommend you read those they follow the usual formula, and are at least entertaining. I have moved on in my literary tastes, to bigger and better things, but nothing will change the guilty pleasure and awe of reading VCA books for the first time. The first series I read was the Logan family series, and then I caught up from there. I would always see my mom with a VCA book in her hand, and the covers made me curious.

Leave a Reply

